Thread: New to the camera and photo theory.

Real Name
    Simply call me Lydia :)

New to the camera and photo theory.

Hello everyone, I'm a 19 yr old student, the average camera user and i just recently started to dig deeper into photography as a friend and I had a heated debate over the "ultrapixel" marketing of the HTC one. As a student of science, i would like to have a better insight on the camera and the photos obtained.
    So far this is what i understood, feel free to correct me and contribute in this thread.

- A true view (what we see) is represented/divided digitally and displayed as a group of pixels.

- What i understand from picture quality is : Pixel density, levels of noise, size and color reproduction.

- The ideal image or picture consists of infinite amount of pixels.

- The eye cannot distinguish more than 300 ppi pictures. (unless u have an augmented eye or spyglass )

- A camera sensor basically acquires the data from light photons to reconstruct a "false" image which we see digitally.

- The camera sensor is a grid containing photosensors called sensels. The amount of sensels = number of pixels? (not sure)

- Each sensel can record only 1 kind of photon from red, blue and green due to technological limitations? So a filter (often the bayer filter as it contains more green to which the eye is most senstive) is used to capture the electrical output of 1 color of photon. The other colors are interpolated by uhhh mathematical means or softwares,.. i dont really know...

- Apparently a larger sensor is better because it captures more light overall and better sampling is done for individual pixels?

- Larger sensels capture more photons meaning that each individual sensel reproduce a more accurate pixel in the picture. Thus the picture contains more detail per pixel which improves the quality. Larger sensels also means less noise being captured and thus clearer pictures are obtained when taking pictures in the dark.