Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lenses

Lenses

Hi, Im new to all this photography terminology and what lenses to use. I love taking photos but am struggling with what to use when. If I am taking a photo of single objects, eg. tissue box or an ornament... would it be suitable to use a 90mm? If I get too close with my 55mm its looks warped and I want the background blurred? Thanks.

Nomadic but not homeless, ex N.Z. now Aust.
    Real Name
    Paul

Re: Lenses

I assume you have a crop sensor camera and a 90mm would be considered to be a mild telephoto on it but it is a very useful focal length for either full frame or cropped formats. At wide apertures it will assist in reducing depth of field thereby blurring the background. For maximum blur make sure the background is as far away from the item of interest as practical.
    Enjoy experimenting.

Real Name
    Ted

Quote Originally Posted by Alisa View Post
    Hi, Im new to all this photography terminology and what lenses to use. I love taking photos but am struggling with what to use when. If I am taking a photo of single objects, eg. tissue box or an ornament... would it be suitable to use a 90mm? If I get too close with my 55mm its looks warped and I want the background blurred? Thanks.
    Welcome to the forum, Alisa,

Good advice above. You are experiencing one of photography's many conflicting requirements!

Do you have one of the more complicated image Editors, such PhotoShop or Photoshop Elements? They usually have a means of reducing image distortion caused by the dreaded "perspective" and other types of distortion more to do with the lens, e.g. barrel distortion.

If you use a 90mm to reduce the effect of perspective, the relative distance of the background from the lens versus the distance of the subject will work against you because the apparent "depth of field" will be more than if you were to shoot closer to the subject.