Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Maternity Photo Help

Real Name
    Sarah

Maternity Photo Help

Hi All,

My sister is expecting her first, a boy, in March and has asked me to do maternity pictures. I am a novice and do not have access to a studio or professional lighting. Does anyone have any experience in this or knows a good website to check out? I've googled for ideas, but haven't found anything that would work well enough without a studio.

Greatly appreciate any and all help as usual! Will have pictures posted soon!

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Maternity Photo Help

Pass on congratulations from me if you don't mind!

First question - what do you have in the way of lighting / flashes?

Second question - do you have ANY kind of budget available for purchasing equipmment (even if it's just a few dollars for a reflector or similar)?

Third question - what camera & lenses do you have available?

We'll get you there

Real Name
    Sarah

Thank you, Colin! I will certainly let her know!

1) Lighting/flashes- only the one on my camera (Canon SD1100 IS)

2) Budget- My birthday is right before the shoot, so I plan on spending some/all of my birthday money on equipment (minimum $50, maximum $200) though, I was hoping to save this for my first dSLR (Canon 40D, used).

3) Camera = Canon SD1100 IS

I do have access to equipment from my university and I've attached the link here to see the full list of what is available.

Thanks for the help!
    Last edited by McQ; 11th December 2009 at 11:29 PM.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Hopefully some of the others will chip in as well, but what comes to mind is ...

- Perhaps consider doing a bit of "Googling" for maternity photos to give you some ideas as to poses and compositions that work. My personal suggestion is to avoid complicated/distracting backgrounds and just keep it simple.