Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Interactive learning

Interactive learning

Hi there,

I would like to ask your advice. I am quite new to photography. While I have owned an DSLR for quite some time now and made fair pictures with it, it is still more trial and error.

Now I am actually investingating some online photography courses. I have found for example http://www.photographyicon.com/ and http://www.thephotographyinstitute.co.uk/ but these are very expensive and you essentially just get a book and the possiblity to send in assignments for critique.

I am aware that buying a book and getting critique here or on similar websites is much cheaper.
    However since I am a true beginnner and really don't know how and where to start a sort of hand-held guide is appealing.

So now I am looking at http://www.proudphotography.com/ which is actually quite cheap. Does anyone have any experience with this? Or do you have any other recommendations for a good step-by-step learning method/book/resource? The most important thing is that I get to do specific practical assignments to start learning.

Thank you very much!

Michiel

Real Name
    Andre Burger

Re: Interactive learning

Michiel,
    My experience has led me to believe a forum like this is a very good place to learn a lot. Asking questions and getting different replies will teach you a lot.
    You sometimes have to be thick skinned like a Rhino but you will learn.

Enjoy it here at CiC and be very active if you wish to learn.

Real Name
    John

It would be a great idea if these online courses allowed you to audit for a week or two or even provide free of charge one or two lessons. That way you could get a better idea of the structure of the class and see if it meets your expectations.

Real Name
    John

Michiel, my experience is that apart from sites like this, if you have a local photographic club, it will be a good place to learn from the more experienced members, more fun and less expensive.