Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Graphics tablets - bigger is better?

Graphics tablets - bigger is better?

Hi,

I have started using photoshop a lot recently, and when doing detailed work I find the mouse too jerky and cumbersome to use.

So I therefore have decided to buy a graphics tablet. I was looking at the Aiptek 14000U, which goes for around £85. The main reason i chose this was for the size, while not compromising on quality.

But as I have never used one before I am worried that it will be too big and will be counter productive when doing detailed work.

Anyone have any views on this

cheers.

Re: Graphics tablets - bigger is better?

I chose the Wacom 6in x 11in (15.24cm x 27.94cm) as it matched my screen aspect ratio. My desk is a normal size, about 2m wide x 1 m deep. Hence, the keyboard, tablet and all the rest of my stuff lay out on the desk fine. I keep the tablet close when in PS and simply slide the tablet a bit out of the way when I'm not. In my opinion, larger has been nice and has not gotten in the way. I think even their 12in x 19in would be nice if I was doing retouch as a full time endeavor - I only do it part time now. In fact, now that I'm used to the tablet, sometimes I feel the 12 x 19 would be better even when working part time.

I have a Wacom Bamboo that is 4 x 6 inches, and it works great for detailed work.

I thought that I would want a larger one, but I tried a friends and found it to be a hassle compared to a smaller one. It maps out to your screen so that each corner of the tablet is the corner of your screen. So to go from one end of the screen to the other on a 12 x 19 would require a large arm motion that would tire you out. I think the larger ones would be useful if you did a lot of drawing, but for photos a small one is perfect, I have a 24 inch monitor and it doesn't seem jerky one bit.