Thread: Camera sensor cleaning set

Real Name
    Andrea

Camera sensor cleaning set

Hy,

probably this topic has already been discussed, but I would like to clean the sensor of my camera. The sensor of my D800 gets dirty quite easily, this is the third time I have to clean it. Up to now I used an official Nikon center. The main problem with the Nikon center is that it is not so close and you have go there, leave the camera, and come back the next day. So I was thinking to clean the sensor by myself. If you search on the net you will find different products, but since I have no experience I cannot evaluate the pro and cons of one or the other. Nor if it better to spend time and continue to use the Nikon center, or learn how to clean the sensor.

Any suggestion or comment are welcome.

Cheers
    A.

Real Name
    John

Re: Camera sensor cleaning set

Quote Originally Posted by kris View Post
    Hy,

probably this topic has already been discussed, but I would like to clean the sensor of my camera. The sensor of my D800 gets dirty quite easily, this is the third time I have to clean it. Up to now I used an official Nikon center. The main problem with the Nikon center is that it is not so close and you have go there, leave the camera, and come back the next day. So I was thinking to clean the sensor by myself. If you search on the net you will find different products, but since I have no experience I cannot evaluate the pro and cons of one or the other. Nor if it better to spend time and continue to use the Nikon center, or learn how to clean the sensor.

Any suggestion or comment are welcome.

Cheers
    A.
    What do the kits contain that you found online? Instructions seem to involve using air without actually touching the sensor.

Real Name
    Tom