Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Computer help

Real Name
    Allen or "Lurchy" is fine

Computer help

Hi there. I'm been thinking of building up a computer for editing. And was wandering if any one can give me ideas/tips on what hardware I should get in the following:

Graphics card
    Ram
    Motherboard
    Processor
    And what ever else

I have some knowledge of desktops workings due to my father, he is going to help build it.

Or should i spend a bit of money on a decent monitor, and connect it to my macbook pro and calibrate it? And if so, what type of monitors??
    Last edited by allenlennon; 5th May 2013 at 03:49 AM. Reason: add on

Real Name
    Andrew

Re: Computer help

This has been reviewed in-depth a few times recently. Do a search on this site for computer and read some of the threads. There are some very good recommendations and explanations already documented.

Real Name
    Grahame

Allen

I'm using a computer that is at least five years old and find it gives no limitations as far as editing go. As for storage any limitations are simply solved by another internal or external drive if needed.

If you are not finding limitations with your existing one go for a decent monitor.

Real Name
    Andrea

Allen,

I agree with Grahame. For PP I use indifferently my MacBook Pro, Mac Air or MacPro. I do not see any really annoying performance difference, even with D800 raw files. However, when using laptops, I have an external good monitor. This makes the difference.

Also you should buy a calibration device.

Cheers
    A.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

My suggestions are ...

- i7 CPU (it's the "V8" of processors). It costs more than an i5 - you don't need the extra speed at this point, but it will extend the useful life of the PC by a few years - so ultimately it's money well spent.

- Minimum of 8GB RAM