Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: 50d vs-???

50d vs-???

Hi every one,

I'm new to cic, I'm new to the photography world. I started out on a "kodak"8mp point and shoot. I got lucky and took some pretty good shoots and caught the bug. I noticed right a way that I couldn't crop or blow up my pictures as much as I wanted. So I up graded to a 30D, after doing my research on which brand to go with.

Of course the 30D had the same megapixel as my Kodak, how ever I was told it wasn't the same, still not sure how that works exactly. Anyway if I had waited another 2 months the 40D would have been out, but I was happy with the 30D. It was a great learning step.

I like shooting landscapes and architecture, with a little of my grand kids sporting events and other family events. When the 50D came out I desided to upgrade. I had read the review from dpreview.com and thought it was a good choice. I like the camera a lot, but I noticed the pictures I was taking with my newly acquired EF-S 18-55 was a little fuzy. the camera came w/a "EF 28-135mm IS, and I bought a EF 70-300mm IS from Amazon and they both do a pretty good job.

I did some more research, and read some more reviews and found out that the 50D had to have a lot better glass than I had. I wish dpreview had said that in the review, it may have made a differance in my decision, mayby not.

Any ways here I am, and heres my question, am i better off up-grading to a 5D, a 5d mkll, or down grade to a 40D. the 40D is a 10 mp, the 5D is a 12 mp. the lens i have would work w/both of those(except the 18-55)no real loss there. the 5D mk ll might have the same problems since its a 21 mp. Or should I spend my money on better lenses. I know the EF-S 10-22, and the EF-S 17-55 are both suppost to be great lenses, but by the time I spend that much I could have all most paid for a new camera. So hard to deside. any help will realy be appreciated. Thanks, Ed
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 25th November 2009 at 12:23 AM.