Thread: LED lighting in the studio

LED lighting in the studio

Hi. Newbie speaking....

I have just invested in a set of Rotalight RL48 LED lights, with a set of Lee colour filters . I was drawn to these because of the small size, light weight, cool running and good price.. Oh and the fact they take up less room in my home [improvised] studio

I understand from the Lee website that LED lighting can bring its own challenges I was wondering if any of you guys had experience of working with LED lighting and any hints, tips and tricks you may like to share.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: LED lighting in the studio

Hi Jon,

I have some little battery ones I got for macro work, they are very bright and dazzle if used to illuminate a face for photography.

I guess they'd be fine for background and rim light use though.

Some have questioned their spectral content though, might (I have no experience) be tricky getting perfect colour balance on skin tones.

Welcome to the CiC forums from ...
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 18th April 2013 at 10:39 AM.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

I'm afraid to say that - for portrait work, generally, ...

- They're too bright for the subject (makes them squint and/or constricts pupils - neither of which are flattering

- They're too dark for what is required to get a good exposure at an ideal aperture with a reasonable shutter speed.

- Spectrally, the can create issues with skin tones.

Sorry - normally we suggest that people stay well clear of them.

(sorry - I know it's not what you'll be wanting to hear).

Real Name
    Robbie.

Unklejon,

I guess we need to know what you plan to light with these lamps before any one can comment properly.

What Colin and Dave refer to as the "Spectral" quality is I suspect known as the CRI or Colour Rendering/Rendition Index.