Thread: Need some tips for an informal family shoot

Real Name
    Annette

Need some tips for an informal family shoot

So, I was asked by my former sister in law (Who I still have a good relationship with) If I would do a shoot with my nieces and a new puppy they are getting in a couple weeks. The only info I have so far is "in two weeks" and obviously, it will be outside, as she said she wants to shoot with them running around and sitting with their puppy. It will be mid April, in upstate NY, with unpredictable weather. Does anyone have any good ideas for best time to shoot, lenses etc? She knows I am just starting out, and wants the photos, more for just her personal collection at home, but I also don't want to let her down. Any ideas? The girls are 9 and 2.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Need some tips for an informal family shoot

Hi Annette,

I'll jot a few thoughts down, but I'll miss loads, so others will fill the gap I hope.

Ideal encourage their Mum to have the girls wear pastel colours that compliment the puppy, no text or bold patterns on their clothes.

Don't shoot at the sun's zenith if you can avoid it, or people will be squinting if bright (assuming it shines!), earlier or later will be better.

Don't shoot with flash (especially on-camera flash) aimed at the puppy or you'll get "pet eye" if it looks at you.

Can you remind us what camera, lens(es) and flash you have at your disposal?

Cheers,

Real Name
    John

Use a telephoto zoom so you aren't in their space too much, especially the puppy who will really get in your face (or lens) once you point the camera at it. Also, some low angle shots for both the nieces and the pup.

Real Name
    Annette

Quote Originally Posted by Dave Humphries View Post
    Hi Annette,

I'll jot a few thoughts down, but I'll miss loads, so others will fill the gap I hope.

Ideal encourage their Mum to have the girls wear pastel colours that compliment the puppy, no text or bold patterns on their clothes.