Thread: Exposure indicator

Real Name
    Thilak

Exposure indicator

I'm a beginner when ever I take pic in M mode throgh view finder I will always adjust and make the exposure indicator to 0. is it the right approch to get the correct exposure.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Exposure indicator

Quote Originally Posted by rtk View Post
    I'm a beginner when ever I take pic in M mode throgh view finder I will always adjust and make the exposure indicator to 0. is it the right approch to get the correct exposure.
    The easy answer is "kinda". Probably more accurate to say that "if you do that then the exposure you'll get will be the same one the camera would have given you if you were to have used one of the automatic metering modes without any exposure compensation".

If you're doing that though, you may just as well use one of the automatic metering modes like Av.

Manual is most useful for situations like where you're shooting in a studio with studio strobes -- the strobes only fired when triggered so the camera metering doesn't know that they're there (so if you used an automatic metering mode for that you'd probably get a ridiculously slow shutterspeed).

For what it's worth, I shoot manual mode in the studio all the time (typically 1/125th @ F11 @ ISO 100), whereas outside, I stick mostly to Av mode unless it's a loooooong exposure, in which case I'll be in bulb mode.

Hope this helps.

PS: With regards to "correct" exposures" ... what's "technically" correct may not be visually what the photographer is after - eg this shot was taken at F32 @ 1/8000th - no way the camera metering would have given me that exposure.

Exposure indicator

Real Name
    John

Also, if you ever change your exposure compensation during a previous shoot, most times it's best to reset to zero for another day.

Real Name
    Mike