Thread: Cold day out with my boys

Real Name
    Annette

Cold day out with my boys

So, I am still learning and I am trying to only share what I think are my best shots, until my best shots become more frequent. I was kind of proud of this one, my 15 and 18 year old at a local park.

Nikon D5200
    F/5.6
    Shutter 1/1000
    ISO 400
    Focal length 55
    No flash

Real Name
    Christina

Re: Cold day out with my boys

A very nice shot, Annette. I like the composition and overall feeling...

Real Name
    Annette

Thanks again. I really, really love this one. Out of the maybe 50 or 60 shots I took yesterday, this one is my favorite.

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

This is a keeper, especially considering that it is of your family. I like that the two subjects stand out so well, but I wonder if I would like it even more if you had more contrast in the other areas of the image.

Regarding composition, it would make a better photo for me if the two boys were far enough back on the trail that you could see all of the bridge. Thus, the photo would be telling the story of them approaching the bridge from a bit of a distance. Doing so would also position the boys in accordance with the Rule of Thirds (even though I abhor the term, rule), which would make for a less static composition.

Notice also that the action is stopped at a point that their legs look a bit awkward. When the surface is level as it is here, I generally prefer the action stopped when both feet are on the ground with one foot forward of the other. Alternatively, I prefer when the forward foot is the one that is in the air.

Real Name
    Annette