Thread: Canon 50mm lens f/1.8 v/s 40mm f/2.8 STM lens

Real Name
    Sachin

Canon 50mm lens f/1.8 v/s 40mm f/2.8 STM lens

I have an option here to keep either on of these lens, since i havent used any one of them, i am not sure which one to keep.

I am just a beginner as a photographer, so can you guys help me suggest which one i should be keeping?

Thanks

Real Name
    Bill S

Re: Canon 50mm lens f/1.8 v/s 40mm f/2.8 STM lens

Sachin,

What do you plan to use it for? The 40mm STM was designed specifically for video use - the stepping motor is designed to be quieter for focusing while shooting video. But the 50mm f/1.8 is a fun lens to shoot with - the razor thin DoF is always a nice option to have in your bag.

- Bill

Real Name
    Lex

I think there's more to learn from working with the 50mm f1.8's narrow depth of field. The focal lengths are quite close, so the question is whether you need the 40mm f2.8 STM's small size or near-silent autofocus motor?

Real Name
    Richard

I didn't think that I would like the 40mm pancake on my 1.6x gear because a 64mm equivalent focal length is kind of awkward.

However, I purchased a pancake (on a whim) when Canon had it on sale as a refurbished item. I really like the size of the pancake. Although the 50mm f/1.8 is not all that big, the pancake is really miniscule. The FL is not all that awkward and image quality is really quite good.

The pancake on a T4i would improve the focus capabilities in video mode. However, I really don't see any great advantage using the pancake with a non T4i DSLR in video mode. If I were shooting with a DSLR and a single prime lens, I would rather have that prime slightly wider than a normal focal length...

Since neither lens is really that expensive, I don't feel badly about keeping both for a while...

Real Name
    Kathy

I think there are two main factors to consider: