Thread: Cathedral Basilica

Real Name
    Bryan

Cathedral Basilica

I love architecture, but I need more practice at shooting it. The widest lens I have is the 24-105. I'm still learning how to deal with the wide angle distortion and what things to look for in architecture shots. A local camera club visited our local Cathedral Basilica. Luckily the inside was all mosaic, so flash was allowed and we were allow tripods.

Cathedral Basilica

Cathedral Basilica

Cathedral Basilica

Cathedral Basilica

Real Name
    Richard

Re: Cathedral Basilica

Great images. However, I suggest that the first one might benefit from some perspective adjustment...

Real Name
    Bryan

Thanks. Haven't quite got the hang of fixing all perspective issues .... I know CS6 has some pretty fancy tools for perspective stuff, maybe I'll play around as time permits.

Real Name
    John

Quote Originally Posted by rpcrowe View Post
    Great images. However, I suggest that the first one might benefit from some perspective adjustment...
    The perspective adjustment sometimes hurts the image when the crop is applied. I usually shoot from two or more distances so that I can salvage some of the surroundings structures. I know they aren't central to the theme but they sometimes add structure to the overall image.

Real Name
    John

Bryan,

Nice images, especially like the colors in the second image.

Real Name
    Allan Short

Bryan a suggestion for the outside image, take 3 or 4 shots as a pan and let your CS6 stitch them together. Once this has been done increase the canvas size around the image to give room to work on the perspective with the wide angle filter and say warp in editing. Many times I have had to increase the canvas size, once finished you can then crop away what you do not need. Oh and by the way great images.

Cheers:

Allan

Real Name
    Bryan

Quote Originally Posted by Polar01 View Post