Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Portraits - capturing the essence

Portraits - capturing the essence

Hi

I posted the following at the end of Colin Southern's school of portraiture thread, but got only one response, as the thread had effectively ended a while back.

I am new to this forum and have only just discovered Colin's great portraiture course. I have read through all the lessons and learned so much; it's amazing how Colin and others are willing to give up so much time to help beginners in portraiture like me.

I have been a keen amateur for many years, but have only in the last few months gravitated towards portraits. I might have posted some of my efforts in the school of portraiture thread for criticism, but I have been taking what I am told are "environmental" portraits (as a professional environmental scientist, I find this terminology a bit odd, but there you are), whereas Colin made it clear at the start that he was not concentrating on this subgroup.

Which leaves me with a question for Colin and other experienced portrait photographers, and for anyone else with a view. How do you capture the character and personality of the subject in a "pure" portrait that contains so little context, and that is often highly polished and corrected in PP? In asking this question I do not mean to imply that you cannot show the essence of a person in a studio portrait, or head/three-quarter shot, but I would like advice on how to do it. The expression can show basics, such as a friendly personality, or the mood at that instant, but does it/can it show more? Of course, it's often easier to judge personality from a photo if viewers knows the subject, but how do you get it across to strangers?