Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Professional Business Practice and Standards

Real Name
    Sophia

Professional Business Practice and Standards

Greetings All,

I'll soon begin working in a professional photography studio and would like to go in as prepared as possible. I'm new to the photography business, I have a background in Architecture, and wonder what fundaments/standards would be good to have down.
    Everything from software standards (architecture file management/settings tends to vary drastically from person to person); file formats and handling; digitizing analog; metadata and copyright standards, and anything else you can think of that would ease my transition into the business.

Thanks!

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Professional Business Practice and Standards

Hi ??? - is it Sophia?

Could you do me a favour please?
    Could you Edit your Profile and put your first name in the Real Name field and where you are (roughly) in the Location field? - thanks.

Knowing where you are might help with the relevance of any advice provided.

It would also help to know how much you know about digital photography - we could waste a lot of time explaining things you already know, or conversely; use terminology that'll confuse you - if we guess wrong.

I'm not a pro, but I would suggest you research the studios' website, they may already have some of that information available for prospective clients.

What sort of job is it you've got there?

Welcome to the CiC forums from ...

Real Name
    Sophia

Hi Dave,

Thank you for your quick response!
    OK. Here's a list of more specific questions. They're quite varied.

For one: I'm essentially curious as to what your step by step process might be for a photo from slide to final print.

For this example I'm given 35mm color film
    First lightly dust the film,
    Then scan for both web and print at what settings and format if the intent is for book publication, fine art prints, or web/blog