Thread: Resizing images for CiC

Real Name
    Lon Howard

Resizing images for CiC

Resizing images for CiC

I didn't want to highjack Annette's thread (MY CAT BOO in People and Pets) so I thought I would post my thoughts here. My iPad didn't show all of her image in the vertical plane and just barely fit on my 13" laptop. Then when I viewed it on my 21" desktop it fit with room to spare.

The recommended maximum number of pixels in the vertical plane for posting on CiC is 1000 using TinyPic (and smaller with other types of posting). Her image was posted at 1599 vertically. While I am a novice at things technical, it appears that this image is a good object lesson for adhering to the recommendations set forth in this thread: HELP THREAD: How can I post images here?. Some viewers may see the image just fine but others may have to scroll to see all of it vertically. If over the limit horizontally, it may be impossible to view all of it.

Those in the know, please fill in the blanks and/or correct any inaccuracies.

Real Name
    Lon Howard

Re: Resizing images for CiC

Well now that the post is done, I'll have to say that I'm not that sure of what I have just posted. The image in post #1 was resized by me to 1000 pixels vertically but it still displays exactly as it did on my iPad and my 13" laptop. Does this mean that I can't effectively resize an image that has already been 'born' at a certain size?

Real Name
    Dave

I view images sometimes on my desktop, sometimes on my laptop, and sometimes on my tablet, and yes the images appear as different sizes. However, if I click and show them in Lytebox they always seem to resize nicely for the screen I am using.

Real Name
    John

Quote Originally Posted by Lon Howard View Post
    Resizing images for CiC