Thread: Just wondering.......

Real Name
    Samantha

Just wondering.......

I am a wedding photographer - about a year into my journey and about 20 weddings under my belt.
    Im for sure still trying to find my voice, and everyday getting a little closer.
    I shot a wedding this past weekend that made me feel like I really am starting to hit it - some off camera flash combined with some less 'over the top' edits that I - like just about every awesome photographer I know - got a little sucked into when they saw the possibilities of photo manipulation! Hah!

So now this is where I am kind of feeling a bit stuck: Exposure.

Sounds really.... REALLY basic.

Yes I can expose a photo correctly - but in post production I am finding that with the contrast between a dark suit, a light dress and a lot of colour - I never am sure if exposing a little over, under, or dead on is best.

Obviously by shooting in Raw, I can make some adjustments, and overall, I am finding that by ETTR the image is a little more satisfactory for my style. I like a little bit lower contrast, still vibrant colours and really crisp lines.

I was wondering if anyone else has any suggestions on how to fine tune this? How best to edit with this in mind? How to maintain the clairity and contrast while keeping if bright and natural looking?

I might be looking in the wrong area for an answer (I dont mean the forum - I mean my review of my shooting choices) and if so let me know!

Any really experienced wedding photographers out there? Do you tend to ETTR or hit it bang on?

Thanks again!

S

Real Name
    Altay

Re: Just wondering.......

Hi Samantha,

I'm not a wedding photographer, but I can say that ETTR is the most accurate and exact way of exposing sensors in digital photography.