Thread: 'Pixel semolina' in image from RAW

Real Name
    Chris

'Pixel semolina' in image from RAW

Hello everyone,
    I'm very new to RAW processing. This question may be dumber than dumb, but please bear with me.
    People on a different thread advised me that I'd really see the advantages of RAW in extreme lighting conditions, so I pointed my G11 out of the window at Orion : 1" @ ISO 1600 f4.5 (as wide as it'll go at 5x).
    Result from PSE-9 in jpeg at quality 12 (Orion's belt and sword in a highly light polluted area)
    Native JPEG on left, RAW on right
    No 'artefacts' from the RAW, the leaves on the laurel tree look crisper... but... the stars stand out better in the JPEG, and the background on the RAW file looks like semolina.
    What am I missing ? What should be my first approach in taking advantage of the power of RAW ?
    Last edited by Ati; 16th February 2013 at 10:17 AM. Reason: spelling

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: 'Pixel semolina' in image from RAW

Your results are not surprising; high ISO, dark background, long exposure and the G11's small sensor are all significant contributing factors when it comes to image noise. Your camera, when shooting jpegs will apply noise reduction algorithms that will reduce the image noise. It will also likely result in some image smearing from the in-camera processing.

If you want to get the best out of a RAW file, you have to post-process the image yourself to handle all of the functions that your camera takes care of for you when you shoot a jpeg; like sharpening, noise reduction, etc. If you have the right tools and know how to use them, you will be able to get a superior image out of an image like this one shooting RAW over jpeg. On the other hand, your G11 is not the best tool for shooting this type of scene.
    Last edited by Manfred M; 16th February 2013 at 01:46 PM.

Stockholm, Sweden (and sometimes Santiago de Cuba)
    Real Name
    Urban Domeij