Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Valentine's Day

Real Name
    Mike

Valentine's Day

Hello, this is my first post (aside from the welcome thread). I am a beginner looking for constructive criticism. These are the flowers I bought my wife for Valentine's day. I decided they'd make a good subject for some photography practice. Let me know what you think and what I need to work on. Thanks!

Valentine's Day

Real Name
    Robert Farkas

Re: Valentine's Day

Greetings from Tampa Mike, and welcome to CIC. You picked a tough subject to photograph; composition is tricky but I think you did the right thing by pulling in tight. I find the black space in the upper right a little distracting, and overall it feels a bit soft (the left most flower what you were focused on?), maybe increasing your depth of field to catch all the flowers, try focus stacking, or go with a shallow depth of field and focus on just one flower.

I have family outside of Chicago, look forward to your pics!

Basically OK, Mike. Maybe just a fraction too tight on top and bottom but was there something which had to be avoided?

Possibly, I would have concentrated mostly on just two blooms and used a different size ratio to reduce the right side a little.

How much have you cropped from the original image? It is a bit difficult to think about alternatives without actually being there to way up the alternatives.

As Robert said, if possible I would have used a slightly narrower aperture to increase the focus depth. But the basic exposure and colour look fine to me.

Real Name
    Mike

Thank you both for the reply's. Here is the original before I cropped it, I was trying to get rid of as much of the black as possible. I had my camera set to f/8 at 0.8s and had it focused on the 3rd flower from the left. I am open for input on how I could have composed it and/or cropped it differently or what other camera setting I could try. Also, can you explain what focus stacking is?

Valentine's Day

Real Name