Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: C&C: My First attempt at "studio" portraits

C&C: My First attempt at "studio" portraits

I finally got my camera setup to do off-camera flash - Here are the first two decent "studio" shots that I came out with. [Brutal] C&C is encouraged - I'm still learning!

Best result from attempt/session one:
    Canon 5dmkII, EF F/4L 24-105mm @ 58mm, F/4, ISO 400, 1/6sec

I had "forgotten" a lot of things I knew better about - I learned a lot by actually doing rather than reading from this shoot.
    - Used white ballance card I picked up
    - Used a tripod
    - Shutter speed dosn't control exposure when using flash (doh!). I ended up with edge problems with the slow shutter speed
    - I didn't have a solid color background (I cheaply masked the entire image)
    - I diffused the flash, but didn't bounce it
    - I used way too high of an ISO
    - I left the house lights on - The shadows are the wrong color temp (over 2000K off)
    - I was manually focusing, autofocus was having issues for some reason
    - The small apeture left most of the image blurry, masking was difficult and more agressive sharpening was needed

Best result from attempt/session two:
    Canon 5dmkII, EF F/4L 24-105mm @ 105mm, F/8, ISO 100, 1/100sec

Here's what I did different from the first shot:
    - I brought the shutter speed up to eliminate bluring and to help lower the luminance of the background
    - I bought a muslin kit and used a black muslin
    - I bounced the flash. This left the image with some nice soft light, but it is still unfocused and rather flat
    - Autofocused instead of manual
    - Brought the iso down to reduce noise
    - Shut the house lights off so there was no yellow shadows
    - Closed the apeture to F/8 so I had a super-sharp image, and a larger DOF
    - Used the 18% grey card on the opposite side of my white card to dial in the exposure