Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Critique and tips request

Critique and tips request

Hi all,

I'm new to CiC and new to photography. I brought my Nikon D7000 (with 18-105mm) at the beginning of January, and before that I was sharing my girlfriends D5100 that we brought in November.

I've seen some great feedback that others have got on their post, and hoping you might share some on my early learning pictures.
    I've read a lot in the last month, and I try to shoot as much as possible in manual so that I have to think about what my exposure settings are and why I decided on their settings. Interestingly one of the most difficult things I am trying to get to grips with, is the rules of 3rds. I know what it is, but remembering to put it into practice is often something I miss in the moment of composing my shots.

I haven't found my favourite type of subject yet and seem to enjoy most things, apart from photographing food (which my girlfriend loves) I just eat that

I would be really greatful of any feedback, suggestions and constructive critique of what are currently my 3 favourite pictures to date

Shot on new years day.
    _dsc0124.jpg

I like this shot, but nothing really stands out for me for a "wow" factor.
    rwa_0315_1.jpg

Although I know this didn't really follow the rules of 3rd's, I am actually pleased with the front and back bokeh in this image.
    The image it self was taken in Covent Garden in London, a BHF display.
    rwa_0546_v2_1.jpg

Many thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Critique and tips request

Hi Rob,

I'm new to CiC and new to photography. I brought my Nikon D7000 (with 18-105mm) at the beginning of January, and before that I was sharing my girlfriends D5100 that we brought in November.
    So now you just 'fight' over lenses

Welcome to the CiC forums from me, great to have you (both?) here.