Thread: Silica gel (may be off topic!)

Real Name
    Dave

Silica gel (may be off topic!)

Often, when I open a new piece of kit, a sachet of silica gel drops out (the last example was in a tripod!). Now, I know the idea is to keep things dry, but..... When I used to work in a lab, and we had to keep samples dry, usually, under vacuum, the gel might perform for a few days and then need to be dried out for re-use. I find it hard to believe that these little sachets in camera gear do any good whatsoever. Or does someone know differently?
    Last edited by davidedric; 6th February 2013 at 11:57 PM.

Real Name
    Dan

Re: Silica gel (may be off topic!)

Presumably, they do some good or manufacturers would not bear the expense, but I suspect that they are fully hydrated and useless either by the time the package is opened or soon after. I use these when I store my equipment in a sealed case in a very humid environment. They have a colorant that turns clear as the gel reaches its capacity. They can be recharged by heating them to 300 degrees Fahrenheit for a while.

Real Name
    Martin

Another option for obtaining lots of those little silica packages is to talk to your pharmacist and ask him/her to save some for you... I put a note up at work and had more than I could reasonably use in no time.

Electronics going into long term storage get placed in a ziplock baggie along with several dessicant packs. The the whole thing goes inside another baggie again loaded with dessicant packs.

Overkill perhaps, but I do live in a rainy climate....

Real Name
    Bobo

The thing to do when gear has been out in the cold. To avoid condensation when returning gear to warmer temperatures, place everything in a ziploc with a bunch of dessicant packs.

Great idea there Martin - will speak to a pharmacy about that.

Real Name
    Martin