Thread: one more confused buyer: nikon d3200 or d5100

Real Name
    rajeev anand

one more confused buyer: nikon d3200 or d5100

hi everybody,
    there seems to be quite a debate on deciding a good entry level dslr for a beginner (like myself). i would like to share what i have picked up from various review sites like dpreview and kenrockwell and then ask for advice on which camera body and lens combination should i settle for. i have been using a canon compact(powershot sx230) for the past two years. i carry it everywhere and like to shoot a lot. i bought this camera after a long time of using a vivitar film camera and i found the whole digital photography thing quite exciting. i shot landscape, nature, birds and whatever else i fancied. i love this compact for being able to carry it everywhere and shoot without intruding. but photographing common birds was quite frustrating especially with the smaller species, which flit about so quickly and it is so impossible to pick out the tiny speck on the small lcd and then zoom in accurately. also the zoomed in results are not great at all. and then the small compact camera does not do much for my ego as an aspiring 'serious photographer'. so i thought of spending some money and getting something that would seem more substantial in my hands. and that is when the trouble started. i quickly zeroed in on the nikon d3200, brushing aside the canon rebel t3i, pulled in by the 24MP and stopped short of the d5200 due to the dollar count. ken rockwell convinced me that the 18-55mm and 55-200mm lenses weren't good enough and that i should rather go in for the tokina 11-66mm f/2.8 DX, nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 and not to forget the nikon 35mm f/1.8 lenses. only problem is that i am now overshooting my budget of about $1200. so i went back to the excel sheets and thought of dropping a lens or two and to settle (for the time being only) for a kit lens(ugh). and then i hit upon these discussions that say that the d5100 should also be OK