Thread: Nikon D3200 vs D5200

Nikon D3200 vs D5200

Hi,

I am considering buying either of these two & after a thorough comparison of the specs, they are very similar except that D5200 is newer, has a vari-angle monitor, 39 auto-focus points & wifi remote control. It also has greater ISO sensitivity, more active d-lighting options & bracketing. Otherwise they are both 24MP and have expeed3. The D3200 with a 18-55mm costs $549 whereas a D5200 with 18-55mm costs $814. Also is it worth buying a 55-200mm lens with them too?

I am a new Australian photographer at 22, but am definitely determined to become a professional. I am keen to pursue newborn & family photography & will try my hand at events & occasionally nature & landscape. Please reply if you are able to help! Any advice, links, tips & information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Last edited by Tia; 2nd February 2013 at 02:07 PM.

Real Name
    Siggi-short for Siegfried

Re: Nikon D3200 vs D5200

Depending on your budget I would seriously consider a D7000 with a 50mm prime and an 18-200mm lens,your type of photography requires studio lights which is another chapter altogether.I recommend this body because of the two dials,in manual you can quickly change shutter speed and aperture and it will work with lenses without internal motors.At events you hardly have the time to change lenses hence 18-200mm will cover all that,the 70-300mm is great but you will miss a lot of shots if you're unable to take 5 steps back.The vari angle monitor should not influence your buying decision.I have 6 Nikon bodies,12 lenses and by the info you have given that's the best advice I can give you before going full frame where you'd consider the D600.

Real Name

Also the 55-200mm lens is so akward you'd constantly be changing lenses

Real Name
    John

Quote Originally Posted by siggi View Post
    Also the 55-200mm lens is so akward you'd constantly be changing lenses