Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Advice on improvement

Real Name
    Benny

Advice on improvement

Trying to shoot this ring well, I shot this in full sun through a white diffusion umbrella and reflected light back at it from the other side with the same facing the ring.
    18-55 - 3.5 - 100iso f11

Any advice appreciated.

Advice on improvement
    Advice on improvement
    Advice on improvement
    Advice on improvement

Real Name
    Martin

Re: Advice on improvement

OK... first of all, I'm not an expert, but here's what I see...

Nice even illumination... perhaps a few stray bright patches/reflections (nothing bad though) but some soft (out of) focus areas.

Couple questions for you... what shutter speed? Handheld or on a tripod?

You might be able to get more of the ring in focus by slowing the shutter speed (using a tripod if needed), bumping up the ISO a bit, using a smaller aperture and moving a bit further back from the ring.

You might even try stacking images to get everthing in focus (I haven't done it, but they say it works... )

Now for the artsy part... I wonder if a darker background might make the ring "pop" a bit more....

Regards

Real Name
    Bobo

You want to shoot it well for fun, to learn, or do you have a specific purpose for the pics?

Real Name
    Benny

They were handheld, I think 125 ss but whatever it was it worked with 100 iso and F11.

I thought about lowering the Fstop to 18 or more to open the DOF on it.

The ring was willed to the wife she wants to sell it so I am trying to get pics as good as I can thinking it will help with learning macro a bit. I thought about shooting it on black but looking on the web at jewelry most of it was on white that I saw in a quick surf.

Real Name
    Susan