Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: My foray into "people" photography

Real Name
    Terri

My foray into "people" photography

Probably my first post in this forum. I have little experience with photographing people and am very intimidated by the prospect but I was determined to capture some photos of the family on this cruise vacation we took together.

These shots are of my stepdaughter. Whether or not they are technically good, they are special to me because I am capturing her as a photographer. She has only in the last year or so been working on shooting in manual mode and has had no training but despite that has for many years taken some excellent photos with her DSLR, her P&S and her iPhone - whichever she had available. Maybe it's her beautiful spirit vs my cynical outlook or maybe it's a right brain/left brain thing but her artistry is something I feel is hard to teach and something I struggle with. Whatever - she is THE reason I bought a DSLR and she continues to inspire me.

As for these photos: I tried to keep a distance from her, keeping in mind the position of the sun. I kept the camera in Aperture Priority and for the last 2 shots I went with a smaller aperture because I thought it best to keep the subject she was shooting in focus also. I know these aren't the type of shots that evoke emotion in others not connected to the subject so I don't have anything specific to ask about but welcome all comments.

Thanks for indulging my sharing...

Real Name
    Andrew

Re: My foray into "people" photography

Hi Terri - I think those are great shots you have of your daughter. All 3 of them will make great keepsakes, but #2 is also quite 'technically' nice too. Great composition, and an all around good shot!

I saw your other photos of the Gulf too, and wanted to tell you that I really liked them - I was just there last week. In Galveston, Texas, the whole family got to sail through the Gulf to the Caribbean. Your shots brought back good memories.