Thread: Are the software creators duping us?

Real Name
    Mike

Are the software creators duping us?

I generally manage to find my way around most PC software for manipulating images, sadly I find it's more of a necessity nowadays than from choice. The thing is, call me an old cynic if you like but I do feel as if software creators are duping us into thinking we're getting more for our money than we really are.

Now I am happy to be corrected if I have it wrong but please read on and let me know what you think.

Whether it's Photoshop CS6 or Elements 11; Lightroom or ACR, each of these programs have adjustment sliders for 'Brightness' and 'Contrast', 'Exposure' and 'Gamma'; but don't they all kind of do the same thing? Please bear with me, as you've probably guessed I'm still a novice at this.

I have learned that by reducing the exposure the really bright places will darken, so what's the difference between that and reducing the brightness? Likewise, if I reduce the Contrast am I not doing the same as I would achieve with the Gamma control?

Is it a dupe or have I failed to spot the differences these controls achieve?

Real Name
    Ted

Re: Are the software creators duping us?

Hello Mike and welcome,

Such cynicism when you know that the big guys only want the best for us, their valued Customers.

Sometimes these controls are a bit different in their action - e.g. brightness in one prog might simply adjust the slope of a linear graph but another might mess with a curvy bit at the upper end. Also , in my copy of ACR, the range of adjustment is less than the outrageous capabilities of Elements.

You are correct in that they all "kind of do the same thing" but when you become seriously knowledgeable like the rest of us, you'll soon be agonizing over editing minutia. It's not really a dupe, as in duplicate, but it's kind of close . . .