Thread: Panorama Photography

Real Name
    Dave

Panorama Photography

Panorama Photography

This is my first attempt at panorama photography stitching together five images using MS ICE.
    The image is almost SOOC with only light sharpening to the RAW and exporting to ICE. It reflects closely what I saw in front of me. Any tips for improving the photo composition or processing? Any thoughts on good tutorials for panoramas?

Real Name
    J stands for John

Re: Panorama Photography

I can only say 'go for it' and have fun and just tell you I use my editor with each frame on a separate layer to aid the stitch and with the clone tool to help create material to hide the jagged tops and bottoms from a handheld pano shot. You may find for some shots you need height so holding the DSLR in portrait mode can help ...I avoid vertical panos becuase they tend to 'look funny' to me ... and I never use a wide-angle lens, prefering to take more frames to capture the wide view. While you have an interesting sky in this shot the grass in the foreground is not that exciting and a reason for using the longer lens ... to reduce the amount of foreground and sky the WA lens gives you. Getting down can reduce the amount of foreground that appears in the photo ...I started with a 3.3Mp camera shooting panos so the idea then was to not crop if you could avoid it.
    If you are shooting vertically for height, with the camera tilted upwards, you could find it advantageous to shoot lots of overlap, like 50% or so, so that you can apply an equal amount of perspective correction to each frame before you do the stitch .... perhaps not needed with current stitch programmes which I don't have.

Real Name
    Dave