Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Night shooting - Northern Lights

Real Name
    Adrian

Night shooting - Northern Lights

I have hunted around the web for tips but thought I would ask here as someone is bound to have done this:

In early March we are visiting Finland for a week, primarily hoping to see the Northern Lights. I have zero experience of night photography or the long exposures needed for this event.

We are taking a 5DIII as main body and 40D back up. 5D was purchased recently with 24-105L though I am happy to buy another lens specifically for this trip if need be. Wide angle seems to be favoured by many. We have a 3 legged thing Eddie tripod with Ball head, and an electronic remote release for the camera. Ample spare batteries to deal with low temperatures and I am used to condensation issues, so not worried about that.

Obviously I will do some night sky practice in advance, but I am wondering if anyone has any advice for 5DIII set up for this job: both stills and video. There is a lot of conflicting advice on the internet about ISO, exposure, aperture (lots of conflict here) and optimum exposure lengths, use of live view etc. We may not get many chances to get it right so I would very much welcome input from those with experience.

This will be the first big test for the 5DIII (with us) and the 3LT tripod, so I will report back on our experiences. We need to travel fairly light as a fair bit of night trekking is involved and it will be pretty cold.

Real Name
    Homer

Re: Night shooting - Northern Lights

Try poking around www.spaceweather.com and http://spaceweather.com/gallery/inde...al83tgn3serbv1. A lot of the photographs list what their settings were for the image and I think there are some how-to's linked, but I'm not sure of the exact sites.

Real Name
    Richard

Being a Southern California guy, I have never shot, nor even viewed the Northern Lights.