Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Beautiful Baby . . .

Real Name
    Kathy

Beautiful Baby . . .

This is my beautiful grand daughter Magdalene (Maggie) she is now almost 6 months old. I like this photo, let me know what you think, comments and advice are welcome.

Kathy

Beautiful Baby . . .

Real Name
    Shane

Re: Beautiful Baby . . .

Maggie is a beautiful baby and you took a lovely shot of her. My first impression is that the colors of her shirt and the blanket are distracting from a lovely portrait. I took the liberty of desaturating those colors very quickly in Photoshop, to the point where you almost have a black and white portrait (please let me know if you want me to remove it). I do love the color in her eyes and subtle skin tone and wouldn't want to lose either in a total mono conversion.

Please keep in mind that I am a newbie here and with Photoshop so I am just giving you an opinion.

Beautiful Baby . . .

Real Name
    Remco

To be frank, I don't like the effect with the gray skin and coloured cloth.
    (My first thought was: 'what did she do to the poor thing'...).
    Otherwise it's a very nice portrait of a beautiful baby girl which could work in colour and in B/W.

You desaturated the baby in PP, I guess (looking at the border between skin and blanket)?

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Kathy,

Position the photo of gorgeous Maggie on your monitor. Shut your eyes and think about anything that makes you temporarily forget the photo. Then open your eyes. What's the very first thing that you see? If it's Maggie's clothes and blanket instead of Maggie, the photo doesn't work despite your very creative approach.

Real Name
    Kathy