Thread: Question about resolution in digital photography

Real Name
    Andrea

Question about resolution in digital photography

Hi

I am brand new to DSLR photography. I've recently bought a Nikon D3200 twin lens kit and haven't owned an SLR since the days of film, probably 10 or so years ago.

I am trying to work out why my resolution may change with some photos. Most of the ones I've taken are at 300dpi which is exactly what I want, but I noticed that a few I have taken are at only 96dpi and I don't know why.

What conditions or settings change this in digital photography? I have looked at two photos taken with aperture priority. One was outside in bright conditions, the other inside under artificial light without a flash. I thought maybe low light was a contributing factor, but another photo taken in the shadowy branches of a tree without flash is also at 300dpi. Any advice will be gratefully received. Although I have used an SLR in the past, this is all new territory to me. Thanks.

Real Name
    Rob

Re: Question about resolution in digital photography

I've noticed similar but always put it down to settings on different bodies (I have 4) but in 8 years of DSLR use I've never looked into it, which I think shows how important it is.

Truth is I don't think it matters at the capture stage, as long as you have the full X000 x Y000 pixels your camera is capable of.
    Last edited by graynomad; 1st January 2013 at 03:55 AM.

Real Name
    Andrea

Quote Originally Posted by graynomad View Post
    Truth is I don't think it matters at the capture stage, as long as you have the full X000 x Y000 pixels your camera is capable of.