Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Manual Mode + Auto ISO

Real Name
    Clemente

Manual Mode + Auto ISO

Hi, I have been reading this forum for some time now and have learned a lot. Thanks to all for that. I hadn't posted anything until today.

I am new in photography (less than a year). I mainly shot candid pictures and portraits of my family and friends. Because of my preferred photography style, I :

- Try not to use flash (to keep my subject unaware I am taking his/her picture)
    - Use mostly zoom lens (same reason as above)
    - Shoot almost exclusively with a handheld camera
    - Do not have too much control on lighting
    - Normally have only a single chance to take a good shot. That is, don't have time to adjust my camera settings and take another shot if the first one didn't result as intended.
    - Like to have control on DoF. When taking portraits I like to use a large aperture but sometimes I like to include some more background and use a smaller aperture to increase the DoF. So aperture control is important for me.

So far, my results have been very disappointing. Many times I have found that otherwise great shots have being ruined because of camera shake or because an important part of the composition is out of focus.

Because I want to have control on my DOF, I normally shoot in aperture priority. However, many times the resultant shutter speed is too low and my pictures result blurred (camera shake). The solution to this would be to increase the ISO speed and try again, but as I mentioned above, by the time I adjust the ISO, the opportunity to take the picture has passed. Also, I prefer to have my ISO as low as possible to minimise noise.

I have also tried shooting in shutter speed priority. I set the shutter speed to the minimum recommended for a hand held camera (1/60 s). However, by doing this, I loss control of my DoF. Most of the times, this results in a very narrow DOF and pictures with parts of the subject being out of focus.