Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Equipment Dilemma : night work, Canon and Nikon

Real Name
    Adrian

Equipment Dilemma : night work, Canon and Nikon

Having been a member here for a longtime, I rarely post. Mainly because although I am an experienced photographer I am not a very good one.

Here's the dilemma:

We travel a great deal all over the world (my wife's passion, apart from me obviously). I got tired of lugging an SLR kit around and we have tried P&S, small cameras such as Leica X1/X2 (both about to be sold). Generally pictures are not brilliant on small cameras, even though I can get high IQ quite often. Things like wildlife really need zooms, maybe fast glass and certainly fast focus.

My SLR kit has been depleted courtesy of my 16 year old son, who is very into photography. He is operating with a 7D (impressive) and has "borrowed" my 28-135 (I think) L zoom, my 60mm macro (no great loss). This leaves me with a DO long zoom, Canon 40D, and whatever the kit lens is that came with the 40D. Tripod is ancient and will be junked.

I have decided it is time to replace the kit. As my son can use the 300mm DO lens, I don't feel constrained to stay with Canon: I can sell the 40D kit easily. I don't want to waste money but price is not a factor.

So that sets the scene.

Most of the photography I do is travel (street and landscape). I like doing indoor market shots. We do a fair few family snaps (some people might call these portraits). Some wildlife. I like boats so proximity to water can be a factor. We often go to high humidity places (just got back from Borneo for example). We live in England and Germany: so it always rains.

The next big trip is to see the Northern Lights in northern Norway and Finland. In March 2013. It will be well below zero.

I am looking at wholesale kit replacement. And I can't decide whether to go full frame or crop.

The options that appeal are Nikon D800 with 28-300 Nikkor (as I recall)