Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Aperture size for landscape

Real Name
    Ali

Aperture size for landscape

Quick question: what are the parameters for determining the f number when shooting landscape? I assume we choose a high f number to increase the depth of field. So, why the usual f11 and not as high (small) as possible, say f22? What is the trade off?

An would using a higher f number decrease vignietting when stacking multiple filters or it has more to do with the focal length used?

Thanks!

Alis
    Last edited by Alis; 13th October 2009 at 05:04 PM.

Re: Aperture size for landscape

I try to shoot them a stop or two less that the smallet apature. This keeps the more in focus (larger DOF) but avoids the typical distortion of lenses when reaching extremes of its F-stop range. The "Understanding Exposure" book I read (recommend from these forums) refers to F/8 and F/11 as "who cares" stops.

I'm still learning this so I'm interested to see what others have to say

Real Name
    Ali

Quote Originally Posted by KentDub View Post
    I try to shoot them a stop or two less that the smallet apature. This keeps the more in focus (larger DOF) but avoids the typical distortion of lenses when reaching extremes of its F-stop range. The "Understanding Exposure" book I read (recommend from these forums) refers to F/8 and F/11 as "who cares" stops.

I'm still learning this so I'm interested to see what others have to say
    Hi Kent,

But I am more talking about the other extreme, very high f numbers or very small apertures. For landscape you will always be way above the lowest aperture for the lens anyway but my question was why not go up all the way?

Real Name
    Jeroen

I spoke a local photographer today and he said to me that a lower F stop was better.