Thread: Portrait editing help needed

Real Name
    Mark

Portrait editing help needed

This image of my daughter is to be my final image to submit for my college course. I'm a complete beginner and it's a beginner's course so that's ok, but I wanted to have something nice at the end of it and it's also going to double up as a gift.

Being a total novice I haven't yet acquired all the necessary equipment to take a really nice portrait so I'm having to make the best of what's available. I had to use the available light and a bit of low fill-in flash to get a decent exposure in our kitchen with ISO 400 and I have no tripod either so longer shutter speeds are out of the question. It wasn't a brilliant image to start with but I'm hoping to rescue it and it's editing I need help with as I'm a beginner with Photoshop also.

So far I've touched it up with the healing brush a bit, de-saturated it and brightened it up with levels. It wound up a bit grainy in the shadows so I put a gaussian blur mask over it to give it a softer focus. Now I'm stuck, not sure if it looks overworked or too blurry and my original plan was to bring out the green colour from the leaf and stems of the flower but is that too gimmicky?

Not sure if I've got a nice image here at all or if I could have done things differently so any C&C would be humbly welcomed and appreciated....[IMG]Portrait editing help needed[/IMG]

Re: Portrait editing help needed

I'm actually happier photographing bugs or boats than portraits, Mark.

However, for what it's worth.

I like the idea of her looking to the right but for me her eye position is now too far to the right. It almost makes her look cross eyed.

The basic shot is good. I would probably have applied any blur selectively as a layer and mask.

Sharpness falling off on her right side does give the scene a little more depth than a straight shot would have done.