Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ambient light vs Incident Light

Real Name
    E. James

Ambient light vs Incident Light

Is there a difference? Is a flash incident light?

Real Name
    Have a guess :)
    Good question -- looking forward to reading the answers!

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Re: Ambient light vs Incident Light

Unlike Colin who for whatever reason decided not to answer your question, I'm not an expert on lighting terminology. So, I'm also interested in the proper answer to your question.

I have only seen the term "incident light" used in the context of "reflected light," not "ambient light." As an example, an incident light meter measures the light falling onto an object. A reflected light meter, which is the kind that is included in camera bodies, measures the light being reflected from an object. If I'm right about all of that, all ambient light is both incident and reflected light. Similarly, all light generated by a flash unit is also incident and reflected. Indeed, all light is both incident (because it falls on a subject) and reflected (because it is reflected by a subject).

Real Name
    Dave Ellis

Here's my two bob's worth :

The word ambient means "of the surrounding area" and is used in terms like ambient temperature and ambient noise (sound). We had a thread recently where the term ambient light was used to distinguish between light in the general surroundings and light specifically produced by a flash.

Incident light on the other hand refers to light striking a surface. This term is used to distinguish between light falling upon a surface and that reflected off it.

So if we are photographing an object, then the reflected light off that surface is the light that enters our camera (although there may be some direct light entering the camera as well). The incident light on that object's surface could be from ambient light or a flash.

Make sense ?

Dave

Real Name
    Trevor Reeves