Thread: Capture NX2 question

Real Name
    Robin

Capture NX2 question

I downloaded the trial version to give it a go.

The first mistake I made was to somehow change a setting so the photos would not show up when I clicked on the folder they were in.

I reinstalled the programme to get the function back, but I can't do that everytime I mess the menu up.

I googled the issue but could not find an answer.

Does anyone know what I did wrong?
    Dumb question I know!~!

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Re: Capture NX2 question

I have extensive experience with using NX2 over the years but I'm having trouble determining exactly what you did that caused the problem. I'm guessing that you probably accidentally clicked one of the items in the mini toolbar located immediately beneath the Main toolbar. The mini tool bar includes the Filter that allows you to select (from left to right) any of the ten color labels (0 -9), any of the star ratings, any items in the "All Images" drop down menu, or a combination of those items. As an example, if all of the files in a particular folder are RAW files and you happened to have used the "All Images" drop down menu to display only the JPEGs, none of the images in that folder would have been displayed.

As much as I love using Capture NX2, one of its notorious weak points is its browser. It would be ideal if you could find a free program that allows you to quickly and easily browse through your image files. You would also want to be able to configure that program to open the selected image file(s) in Capture NX2. Sorry that I can't recommend any such programs, because I use a cataloging program, IDimager, to do that and it isn't free. I recommend that you start a new thread asking for recommendations about that. For all I know, a lot of people might recommend Nikon View NX2. (I haven't used View NX in so long that I don't remember its browsing capabilities.)