Thread: Food Photos

Real Name
    Jason

Food Photos

Hey all,

Today I was lucky enough to be allowed to shoot the desert menu at a one Michelin star restaurant in NYC. My girlfriend helped me out with that as shes the senior chef de partie, she made and plated the food. I am not getting paid, I just wanted to get some experience in food photography. These photos will be used for their recipe manual as a plating examples. The executive chef will also be sending the photos to the other locations that the company has. I have limited equipment in the means of studio lighting so I was just using a speedlight and a cloud dome. I would really appreciate feedback on these images. I have limited experience with lighting and its something that I really need to work on.

Gianduja ganache
    caramelized hazelnuts, chocolate dacquoise, blood orange, earl grey gelato

Food Photos

Apple tatin
    caramelized apple, puff pastry, smoked caramel ice cream

Food Photos

Ginger spiced pear
    whole roasted spiced pear, gingerbread, milk chocolate & ginger ice cream

Food Photos

Coconut pudding
    fresh coconut pudding, lime financier, caramelized spiced pineapple, coconut sorbet

Food Photos

Exotic fruit plate

Food Photos

Thanks everyone,

Jason
    Last edited by Rhoads238; 15th November 2012 at 05:50 AM.

Real Name
    Jon

Re: Food Photos

Jason, I really like the angle and the contrasting background used on the spiced pear shot. Nice job.

Real Name
    Jon

Although I like the ganache, the shadows in the middle forward are a little bit distracting for me. Nice composition.
    Now you have made me hungry!

Real Name
    Bobo

All very nice shots.

If this is something you will be dong more of this type of shots take a look at Chris' Cheese. He does an excellent job with lighting of his subjects.

While browsing Phil's More than human I came across this link about food painting. If I ever take food shots, this is how I would like them to turn out.