Thread: Happy Children

Real Name
    Aless

Happy Children

Hi all!

This is my first post. I'm not an expert at photos but I love taking pictures.

So I'd like to see your view, suggestions..

Happy Children

Real Name
    Phil Page

Re: Happy Children

Hi aleilovephotos

The first thing I would suggest is to watch the edges of the frame - you have incomplete hands and feet in this image.

One of the best photographers I've come across from forums for baby/child/teenagers photography is a lady called Lisa Holloway. She has had 9 children (!) so has learned on the job!!!

The reason I bring her up is because of some photographs she has taken in a very similar setting to your family photograph above. She doesn't use fancy lighting equipment - just available light. Note what she's done with this image though:

http://500px.com/photo/11274903

In her blog she showed the first image she took with this grassy backgorund of her daughter, with a commentary and shot of the 'set' to give you an idea of what she did on location.

Try her website - it might give you some inspiration - I cannot access it at present but I'm sure it's still working as she's a busy photographer in the Arizona area of the US.

http://ljhollowayphotography.com/

Nomadic but not homeless, ex N.Z. now Aust.
    Real Name
    Paul

These children remind me very much of my two youngest grandchildren - they even have poses similar to how my two are likely to behave in front of my camera. So on an emotional basis I find the photo really interesting and enjoyable. The lighting, exposure, focus and colours are fine BUT the very tight cropping and hands and feet disappearing out of the photo I find distracting to me as a photographer.

You certainly have a couple lovely looking children and if you can get them to stay still again try some more shots leaving a bit more room around them.

Real Name
    Aless

Thanks to all your amazing comments and suggestions. I loved this site.

Real Name
    Andre Burger