Thread: First Proper Post - C&C's welcome

Real Name
    Mark

First Proper Post - C&C's welcome

This is my second post but my first where I actually went out thinking that I knew what I was doing. Assignment for my beginners college course was to shoot a landscape, I took this 2 hours before college after a two week break because I'm a puddled individual who leaves everything till the last minute but.... I'm quite happy with it! There were several others that didn't turn out. I've edited it a tiny bit in tweaking the levels on photoshop. I am a complete beginner looking for tips so feel free to rip to shreds! [IMG]First Proper Post - C&C's welcome[/IMG]

Nomadic but not homeless, ex N.Z. now Aust.
    Real Name
    Paul

Re: First Proper Post - C&C's welcome

Time of day and lighting very good. The only thing that spoils it for me is the size of the rusty pile/peer? on the left side. The shape of its edge has an interesting relationship to the bridge but I think it would be better cropped to at least half its width. The little slither of bright sky on the very edge under the bridge deck is a bit distracting and could be removed either by cloning or cropping.

The difficult lighting is handled very well. Some viewers may prefer to see a little bit more shadow detail but the fact that the bridge is basically a silhouette with a hint of detail I think is fine. I doubt that it will be torn to shreds but it will be interesting to read what others have to say.
    Last edited by pnodrog; 2nd November 2012 at 09:57 AM.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'