Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Some decent (I think) children portraits

Real Name
    Miltos

Some decent (I think) children portraits

This is a "School of Portraiture" (by Colin Southern) applied session. I tried my best to incorporate all of Colin’s advice since I have no experience on this kind of photography.

I finally got some decent portraits (I think) I want to share. I recently bought a small cheap 23in soft box from ebay (from China) to experiment with light modifiers and I am very pleased with the results taking into account that it cost about 40$. I don't have a lightstand so I used my camera tripod as one while handholding the camera. The build in flash of my Canon 60D was used to remotely trigger my speedlight and fortunately that worked flawlessly.

What I now need is some critique to identify my faults.

My portrait models are almost exclusively either my niece and nephew or my... cats. In this case those are some summer shots of my sister's children.

Her name is Cookie and of course that's a nickname. When photographing her I always aim for her marvelous green eyes. I wanted however to use another trick that unfortunately make her keep her eyes a bit close. I used a blower my sister has to inflate a small swimming pool we have to make everything a bit windy. Here is the result:

Canon 60D, 24mm @f/4, 1/200s, speedlight 430EX II

This was shot in August so her skin is a bit sun burned. I chose an f/4 aperture to isolate her from the background and used the flash as fill in. It was hard to keep the camera with one hand (with the 24-105 f/4L lens) while the blower with the other so I had many bad shots. In PP what I did was some minor dodge and burns and some tiny saturation increase in her eyes.

Here is another shot of her where her eyes are wide open:

Canon 60D, 50mm @f/2.5, 1/250s, speedlight 430EX II