Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Advice on lens.

Real Name
    Michael (Mike)

Advice on lens.

Hi Guys,
    My name is cameraaddict (Mike) and I am fairly new to Photography. I have just joined Cambridge in colour today. I live in Yorkshire UK.This is my first post!!!! My main interests are, landscape, macro and family photos. I have a 18 - 55mm lens which came with the camera (Canon 400D) and would like to know what lens will give me very good images.
    Many thanks.
    Cameraaddict

Real Name
    Sharon

Re: Advice on lens.

Hi Mike and welcome!

I think a good starting point would be to think about where you think the kit lens isn't delivering what you want and then seeing what the alternatives are. What distance do you mostly use it at?

There are lots of lovely lenses out there. ..unfortunately for ones bank balance, so it is important to evalute what your needs are and do a lot of research

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

A lens does not create good images, the photographer does.

Lens selection is really based on the type of photography that you do, and for landscape and family photos, your current lens will do just fine. If you are into macro images, a macro lens is the tool of choice. If by portraits you are looking for more of a closeup (head shot) type portrait, a slightly longer lens; 70mm - 80mm focal length might be more appropriate as the 55mm setting is at the lower end of the range. The most popular pro full-frame portrait lens tends to be the f/2.8 70 - 200mm lens, which translates to 45mm - 125mm range for your camera body.

One thing I would advise, regardless of which (if any) addtional lens you buy; don't duplicate a focal length you already have, unless you have a very good reason to do so.
    Last edited by Manfred M; 5th October 2012 at 05:32 PM.

Real Name
    Mark