Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Picturenaut 3.0 Released

Real Name
    David

Picturenaut 3.0 Released

Hi All - If I've missed anyone else's post on this while I've been away I trust you'll excuse me. Picturenaut 3.0 has been released for aficiando's of HDR processing and TMO's. It can be downloaded from http://www.hdrlabs.com/picturenaut/.

I've run a test image through the system (3 Canon RAW files) and the new release looks robust. It took 25 seconds with multi-thread processing (quad core system) to create an HDR image.

New or enhanced features include a "Bilateral" TMO, better ghost removal, RAW support and exposure control. Overall, the user interface feels very good and is considerably simpler than Photomatix Pro. The test images that I have run have produced very good photorealistic output. To be recommended to all HDR fans experienced or not.

Cheers

David

Real Name
    Roger

Re: Picturenaut 3.0 Released

David:
    Thank you for the link. I am rather new at HDRI and the few attempts I had made, first with Photomatix then with more success with FDRTools, left me wondering if there was any way of making the outcome look "natural".
    I downloaded Picturenaut3 and tried it on a recent sequence of three bracketed (dng) shots and in less than a minute ended up with what may be a better result than any of my previous attempts.
    The only concern I have is that it seems to nuke the exif data and doesn't appear to have a provision for setting the color space. Perhaps I should read the manual
    Attached are my original hdr pic that I have converted with FDRTools, and the second just now with Picturenaut.
    I know I will have to work on the sky since it doesn't look as good as the FDR version but I think the trees came out looking much more natural.

FDR Tools:
    img_5428-30-fdr-s.jpg

Picturnaut3:
    img_5428-30-pn-s.jpg

I would appreciate any comments and suggestions for improvement.

Roger
    Attached Images Attached Images