Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DNG vs NEF

Real Name
    Maja or Molly

DNG vs NEF

I know I've read on here before the differences between DNG and NEF files, but can't find any threads.

When I upload files from my memory card into LR... should I leave them as the NEF or change them to a DNG?

Is it okay to change to DNG before any processing?

Thanks!

Re: DNG vs NEF

I'm no expert on the subject; and I don't use Lightroom: BUT, I noticed when quick processing some Santa Claus parade photos using Adobe Camera RAW a few years back that the reds in Santa's suit were clipped, and showed banding (particularly in the shadows), whereas they showed perfectly smooth gradients when processed in Nikon Capture NX2.

I haven't used anything but Capture NX2 to process my NEF images into TIFFs since; because I don't want to waste my time looking for problems that shouldn't be there in the first place.

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Hi Maja, NEF (Nikon Electronic Format) is Nikon’s RAW file format that features image information and metadata received from the camera’s sensor. It, like most propriety camera manufacturer formats, requires a converter that any one imaging software may or may not have. Obviously Nikon's NX2 DOES have this converter.

Digital Negative (DNG) is an open lossless raw image format written by Adobe used for digital photography. Its goal is to be a RAW file industry standard that (hopefully) all imaging software manufactures will accept.

By converting my NEF files to DNG in Lightroom as I read them from my camera's memory card, I am hoping to be able to use the RAW DNG files in any current or future imaging software releases in addition to the suite of Adobe products.

Real Name
    Maja or Molly

Thank you, Frank.

So, if I am understanding correctly- I should convert from NEF to DNG upon import and then proceed to process? I process is LR and CS.

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Quote Originally Posted by MajaMolly View Post
    Thank you, Frank.