Thread: Watcher Bird

Real Name
    George

Watcher Bird

Hello, My first post for C&C. I took this about a month ago at the tip of Sandy Hook, NJ with the lower New York Bay in the background. You can barely make out Manhattan on the right about 16 miles (25km) away. The first is just a unprocessed crop. I applied contrast to the get the second using Picassa. I'm still learning how to use a Sony RX100 and know a little about post processing. Looking for suggestions on processing the image, any recommendations on software and general C&C.

Thanks in advance,
    George

Cropped
    Watcher Bird

With Contrast
    Watcher Bird

1/800s, F7.1, ISO 125

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Watcher Bird

George

If I haven't already said hello and welcomed you to CiC then ............ Hello and welcome.

The one suggestion I'd make when we look at the above is to not get too aggressive with the post processing. I think it's something we all did and do when we''re quite new to post-processing. I know I did it.

I think you had something that was close to good in the original, but then, in my view, you pushed it too far with the contrast slider. As I was told on here, which was a good lesson, we need to learn when less is more when it comes to PP.

If you want to really get serious about your photography, then that will mean looking at post-processing options. And to a large extent, what you consider will be dictated by your budget. For example, there is the free to use (although you can make a donation) open-source GIMP package. But because it doesn't have the market penetration of the Adobe suite of products, there is not the same level and range of support in terms of helping you learn it. There are good resources (they helped me), but you have to seek them out.