Thread: Stairwell

Real Name
    Sergio

Stairwell

I'm new to photography (since April). This picture was taken at Mission Concepción in San Antonio, Texas. We were walking in the back entrance since the front was closed. I really liked the light and shadows and the texture of the walls. I tried to expose for the walls knowing the highlights would blow a bit but figured I'd be able to pull back in post processing. Not sure if I got it right though.

Your C&C is appreciated. I really want to get good at photography since it's been so much fun to learn.

Canon T2i in manual mode, 24mm, f8, 1/25s, iso 100, and used spot metering. Shot in raw and used Corel Aftershot Pro ( I compute in Linux) for raw processing. Just minor sharpening and vibrance added.

Thanks.

Serge

Stairwell

Real Name
    Miltos

Re: Stairwell

Hello Serge. Lovely image you have. I think it is too busy however. Consider cropping the wall on the left, the door on the right and the floor. Also it's a good candidate for B&W conversion.

Hope it helps!

Real Name
    Gretchen

I love this. I like the door and I like the wall. What I don't like is the floor mat and the bright light on it. I think the wall is necessary to show why you didn't shoot a larger portion of the downstairs. Otherwise it looks like you just cut-off the picture to create a long narrow passage. The door is interesting enough, IMHO, that it adds to the shot and provides balance. There is probably no way to totally get rid of the carpet because of the stones on the floor --unless you are really, really good and drawing the floor in (as far as I know, that is the only way to to do it) If you could reduce the light on the mat that would help a lot. Can you lighten then area in the room to the way back --that would also increase the "interesting" factor and draw the eye from the floor mat.