Thread: Guidance required regarding Speedlite

Real Name
    Soozie

Guidance required regarding Speedlite

Hi there everyone,

Please bear with me as I garble my way through my question as I don't have it straight in my head yet. (The technical stuff is confusing and as I am a newbie it is like trying to teach a migrant child a new language here).

Facts
    I own a Canon EOS 550D. I have purchased a Yongnuo Speedlite YN560 as an external flash - I think it is called a slave flash?

Question
    Can I use this external flash off the camera - is this called an OCF? and if so how?

An answer that is very simply written without all the technical blurb, or if said blurb required, an explanation as to what it all means please.

I have googled the question till the cows came home and am now more confused than ever

Regards

A disenchanted Soozie
    Last edited by Soozie B; 8th September 2012 at 09:40 AM.

Real Name
    Paul Melkus

Re: Guidance required regarding Speedlite

The 550D doesn't have the built-in wireless control. In that case, if you're looking for full TTL remote flash capability. You'll need a remote flash controller - either a 580EX II or an ST-E2 remote flash controller. You can get an ST-E2 quite inexpensively off of eBay - especially the Yongnuo ones. The Yongnuo 565EX you have will then work just fine.
    There are also a few non-optical full TTL wireless solutions. There's the Pixel King; Pocket Wizard has one, and Phottix has one also. None of these solutions are cheap though.

Real Name
    Soozie

Thanks Paul for answering me. If I may indulge for a little longer, as I'm new I struggle a bit with the language.
    1. What is TTL?
    2. What is a non optical full TTL?

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

First of all, I'm not a Canon shooter, so I don't know all the intricacies of the camera and your flash.