Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Stainless Steel Menagerie

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Stainless Steel Menagerie

IMPORTANT: If you're not interested in the long explanation accompanying this shot, simply skip to the image.

Continuing on my quest to understand studio lighting, I graduated from my last shoot of capturing one shiny, metal object to capturing many of them. Whereas I had to contend with only one family of angles in my previous exercise, there are many families of angles in this one. Dealing with that is the lighting challenge. (By the way, this is a color image, not black-and-white.)

My goals:
    1) To make the image mostly by controlling the light rather than relying heavily on post-processing. That was a success.

2) To create reasonably bright or very bright areas on all surfaces; no surface was to be mostly dark. As you'll see below, that didn't work out so well.

Disappointments:
    1) The small spatula in the middle is mostly dark despite, as mentioned above, that I wanted most parts of every object to be at least reasonably bright. I believe that is impossible to accomplish using this arrangement. That's because I had only two light sources and a handheld reflector and that spatula positioned as it is involves a fourth family of angles; I needed another direct light source or another hand or stand to hold a reflector in the proper position to light that spatula. The fact that I know why the spatula is dark and what I would have had to do to make it bright indicates that I have progressed a lot in the last few weeks. That's thanks entirely to the book mentioned below.

2) I don't like the reflection of the grater appearing in the bottom of the far right spatula. It wasn't worth it to me to deal with that, as that was beyond the scope of the stuff that I wanted to learn in this exercise.