Thread: Can the 17-55 f2.8 Replace my 17-85 f4/5.6?

Can the 17-55 f2.8 Replace my 17-85 f4/5.6?

Hi,

I have been using the Canon 17-85 for a few years and like it...except that I would prefer to shoot at f2.8 for reasons of depth-of-field as well as easier manual focusing.

I have a 50-D now and it's resolution is very good indeed, so I am wondering if I can give up the range of 55-85 and make up the difference by larger blow-ups.

Comments and suggestions are appreciated.

I have a 100-400 too as well as the 60mm f2.8 macro and 50mm f1.4.

Real Name
    William (call me Bill)

Re: Can the 17-55 f2.8 Replace my 17-85 f4/5.6?

Quote Originally Posted by bmpress View Post
    Hi, I have been using the Canon 17-85 for a few years and like it...except that I would prefer to shoot at f2.8 for reasons of depth-of-field as well as easier manual focusing.

I have a 50-D now and it's resolution is very good indeed, so I am wondering if I can give up the range of 55-85 and make up the difference by larger blow-ups.

IMO the short answer is: Yes, you can make up the FoV from 55mm to 85mm, via enlargement

But the long answer is a bit more involved. I suggest you also ask yourself, what are the “uses” for the new lens (I assume to REPLACE the 17 to 85).

What I mean is, I note and understand you want to have Shallow DoF and you want easier MF . . . but what do you want Shallow DoF for? – Portraits? If so do you want F2.8 at 17mm to 35mm ??? perhaps not I don’t know – and you already have 50F/1.4 – if you want a longer Portrait lens the 85F/1.8 is a cracker.

If you want a good Normal Lens for Available light work, the 35F/2 is neat – so too is the 28F1.8 (on and APS-C Body – it suffers a little at the edges on a 5D). . .